Plenary Speakers


Precision Biomaterials for Regenerative Medicine

Kristi Anseth is the Tisone Distinguished Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering and Head of Academic Leadership of the BioFrontiers Institute at the University of Colorado at Boulder, USA.  Her research interests lie at the interface between biology and engineering where she designs new biomaterials for applications in drug delivery and regenerative medicine.  Dr. Anseth is an elected member of the US National Academy of Engineering, National Academy of Medicine, National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Inventors, and the American Academy of the Arts and Sciences.  She is also an editor for Biomacromolecules and Progress in Materials Science.

Regenerative Medicine, Current Concepts and Changing Trends

Anthony Atala, George Link Professor and Director of the Wake Forest Institute for Regenerative Medicine, is a practicing surgeon and a regenerative medicine researcher. His work focuses on growing human tissues and organs using cells and 3D Printing. He is Editor-in-Chief of three journals. He is a National Academy of Medicine and National Academy of Inventors member. His work has been listed twice as Time Magazine’s top 5 medical breakthroughs of the year and he was named by Scientific American as one of the world’s most influential people in biotechnology. He has received numerous awards for his work, including the Edison Science Award, the Smithsonian Ingenuity Award, and the R&D Innovator of the Year Award. More than 14 applications of his laboratory technologies have been used clinically. He is the editor of 20 books, has published over 600 journal articles, and has applied/received over 250 national and international patents.


Development of Conceptually New Fluorogens for Biomedical Application

Ben Zhong Tang is Stephen K. C. Cheong Professor of Science, Chair Professor of Chemistry, and Chair Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering at The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST). His research interests include macromolecular chemistry, materials science and biomedical theranostics. Tang received B.S. and Ph.D. degrees from South China University of Technology and Kyoto University, respectively. He conducted postdoctoral research at University of Toronto.He joined HKUST as an assistant professor in 1994 and was promoted to chair professor in 2008. He was elected to the Chinese Academy of Sciences and the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) in 2009 and 2013, respectively. Tang has published 1,400 papers. His publications have been cited >85000 times with an h-index of 135.

Engineering the Shape and Mechanics of Epithelia

Xavier Trepat was trained in Physics and Engineering at the University of Barcelona. In 2004 he obtained his PhD from the Medical School at the University of Barcelona. He then joined the Program in Molecular and Integrative Physiological Sciences at Harvard University as a postdoctoral researcher. In January 2011 he became an ICREA Research Professor at the Institute for Bioengineering of Catalonia (IBEC). Trepat’s research aims to understand how cells and tissues grow, move, invade and regenerate in a variety of processes in health and disease. To achieve this, he has developed technologies to measure cellular properties at the micro- and nanoscales. He has then applied these technologies to identify fundamental mechanisms in cell biology and biophysics.



A Novel 3D Printing Approach for Structured Microenvironments and Defined Cell Behaviour

Hala Zreiqat is a Professor of Biomedical Engineering at the University of Sydney; a National Health and Medical Research Council Senior Research Fellow and is the Director of the Australian Research Centre for Innovative BioEngineering. Her research is on the development of novel engineered materials and 3D-printed platforms that mimic tissue structures, particularly in orthopaedic, dental, and maxillofacial applications. She has received national and international awards. She pioneers national and international technology development, and has received national and international awards, including the Order of Australia; the 2018 New South Wales Premier’s Woman of the Year; The King Abdullah II Order of Distinction of the Second Class - the highest civilian honour bestowed by the King of Jordan (2018); Eureka Prize winner for Innovative Use of Technology (2019); Fellow of the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences (2019); Fellow of International Orthopaedic Research (FIOR); and University of Sydney Payne-Scott Professorial Distinction (2019).